There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

In this contemporary epoch, there has been a substantial rise in assessing students through exams instead of continual assessment. It is beneficial as exams provide written clarification to a student and put a student into more theory practice for their disciples. However, they have limitations, as they do not give practical knowledge to pupils by limiting them to a theoretical approach to a particular subject. To begin with, the benefit of performing assessments with exams is that it is a prudent approach to give students their performance evaluation as it implements stringent rules and yardsticks. For instance, if a student is performing well in an exam, the score result in that exam will boost their confidence to perform more effectively. Moreover, the writing exam helps students comprehend what they need to work on by finding trivial mistakes, which allows the pupil to achieve something far better. However, in contrast to the above, this approach of using exams as an assessment these days could be a colossal mistake as this prevents students from achieving an implicit faith in the practical application of knowledge. As depicted by the University of Toronto in a 2019 survey, students who are more confident in the pragmatic approach of their respective study domains are becoming enormously successful compared to any other theory-prone student. To conclude, the above statement has pros and cons, as sometimes there is a more proactive need for practical assessment as it gives more concern in theory learning. In some cases, there is a craving to succeed more in practical areas as it brings a paradigm shift in the student ’s confidence.