Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that although nations where folks spend more hours on work are financially prosperous, it also has a bad social effect on these populations. This essay totally agrees with that statement because not only family life is disturbed but this also affects detrimentally on mental well-being of an individual. First of all, when public spend more time at their workplace, their family life is disturbed. That is because they do not have extra hour for leisure activities with their families and this impacts their homes negatively and results in the number of bad consequences. For example, WHO recently published a report indicating that divorce rates are much higher in places where employees work for more than 60 hours per week on average. Another important factor is that working for longer durations also has a bad psychological impact on an individual. When someone works for extended shifts, it affects his or her body negatively and also people who usually work more have less time for themselves. As a result, these folk get tired easily and feel frequent burnout earlier in life. For instance, the survey conducted by a company in Japan found out that their employees who do not take appropriate rest days and vacations on time are unable to cope with the mental stress as well as compared to those who take regular rests. In conclusion, nations where people work more without taking proper moment off have higher social problems because of the bad family activity and psychological impact of longer working hours.