Some people think that teachers should be responsible for teaching students to judge what is right or wrong so that they can behave well. Others say that teachers should only teach students academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

To what extend the teachers have to contribute towards society? Should they participate in the development of decision-making process? or they are only subjected to teach academic subjects? This essay will discuss both views and shall present how crucial is the role of a teacher in the character building of a child. On the one hand, it is a common debate that the educators must focus on teaching the kids about dos and don'ts in their life. Which simply means that character building of a child is a matter of paramount importance to enhance their cognitive abilities of decision making. For instance, facing a real-life problem and finding a way to get out of it must be taught at an early age, especially in the schools. On the contrary, few argue that the tutors should focus on the school curriculum, as the future of the youngsters depends on it. Such a mindset presents the sole purpose of schooling, which refers to career development and way of earing, and they believe that parents at home could teach the basic ethics to the kids. For example, it is common for kids to practice human behaviour and social norms under the influence of their parents. They even tend to learn those by just watching them. To conclude, while the parents may teach their offsprings about life, yet the teachers hold the responsibility of educating their pupils. In my perception, teachers must play a pivotal role in teaching discipline and life ethics along with the regular courses.