n some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The fast- food culture has flourish drastically over the past decade, mainly due to easy availability and advertisements. While some believe that imposing extra taxes would help in reducing its consumption, others argue otherwise. In my perspective, additional taxes on such restaurants would only affect a particular class of the society; the remaining population can't even afford to eat there often. To begin with, the advocates of additional taxes on fast food say that expensive restaurants would somehow demotivate the people to eat there frequently. Who would like to waste his precious earings on overpriced and unhealthy food? Therefore, the demand will reduce automatically at higher prices. Additionally, the money from those taxes could be utilized to cure the patients at a hospital, which may act as a positive step in the right direction. South Korea, for instance, has 5% more taxes on the fast- food restaurants, and outcome from these are used to cure diabetes and heart patients. In contrary, it is argued by the other side that most of the people do not eat fast food anyways because it is not affordable for them already. Which certainly means that special taxes on such places and eateries might not affect more than 80% of the population as they already cater there occasionally. Instead, motivational campaigns and programs are needed to divert their attention towards their deteriorating consequences. For example, in Pakistan, public awareness messages are displayed after prime time every day to guide people about the detrimental effect of junk food. To conclude, I certainly believe that higher taxes on junk food could push people to eat healthily; however, it cannot target the whole society at once. Hence, certain awareness campaigns are also needed to educate and motivate the general public.