Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Although some specialists believe that it is more beneficial for children to commence learning a foreign language at primary school, others believe it is more advantageous when these languages are taught in high schools. In my opinion, I strongly believe that the advantages of teaching kids a foreign language in primary school, far outweigh any drawbacks it may bring. Despite the disadvantages below, children learning a foreign language during the primary stage of their education have significant positive effects. Firstly, learning a foreign language at primary schools is extremely easy for children because they have not deeply imbibed the fixed grammatical structures of their native language yet. This makes it simpler to pick up the new framework of any foreign language. If they were to commence this learning at secondary school, it would take longer to learn and cause the child a great deal of mental stress. Secondly, due to the number of advanced subjects which are part of the high school curriculum, it is very advantageous that children complete foreign language studies in primary school. This would free up crucial time which would be needed in focusing, and excelling, in subjects like Physics, for instance, which are very useful for their future. Admittedly, there are issues to be considered. One problem which may arise from teaching young children a foreign language early on is that it might affect their conversational skills. To illustrate, a small number of children who are taught the Japanese language at elementary school, often mix words with their native language in day-to-day conversation. However, this is extremely rare. Another issue which may result from teaching primary aged children foreign languages, is that other areas which are crucial to their mental and social development, might be negatively impacted. To clarify, learning a foreign language may require extra hours. This might reduce the number of hours a child has to play and interact with his or her mates. Consequently, they may have stunted mental abilities. In conclusion, attaining early native-level proficiency in a foreign language and having amply time to study crucial subjects at secondary school far outweigh any disadvantages.