Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty.

Since people have been living together as a community for centuries, crimes and violent actions have been occurred, and there are laws and rules to punish those who commit crimes. Some in favour of capital punishment argue that it is an effective method to reduce the crime rate in the area, although others believe that the death penalty is unbearable and immoral action to punish criminals. There are both advantages and disadvantages of this punishment to use in modern society. The death penalty, on the one hand, is viewed as an effective deterrent. Once those who committed major crimes are sentenced to death, other people will have a fear and avoid getting involved in crime. It might give the public the message that some violent crimes are not forgiven. Thus, executions prevent re-offending and vengeance, meaning they can no longer offend after the release. Consequently, it must lower the crime rate, however, there is no actual evidence of it according to the latest surveys. Another advantage of the death penalty is that there may be public support for the government. For example, In America, France and Britain, the research was carried out and it showed that a huge number of people chose capital punishment as a fair method for heavy criminals. Some people, on the other hand, demand to abolish the use of the death penalty for any criminal because there is no major positive effect. The major reason why killing people as a penalty should be completely banned is wrongful executions. The people may be wrongfully convicted and misjudged by the police. It is an irrevocable action which nothing can be changed. In fact, for every eight people on death row, one of them has later been found innocent. The other concern is it may used as a political tool in some countries or against one specific group of people such as poor people and black people based on their religion or race. It influences the whole system of the country, and in turn, it leads to chaos and an aggressive atmosphere among individuals. Lastly, some people that killing someone for killing someone is so morally wrong that it could be replaced by lifelong imprisonment or other alternatives. In conclusion, while some people argue that banning executions is a better idea, others think that it is acceptable to sentence people to death. Both of these ways have advantages and disadvantages.