When new towns are planned, it is more important to include public parks and sports facilities than shopping centres, for people to spend their free time in. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people think that building public parks and sports facilities are more necessary than building shopping centers as new towns are constructed. From my point of view, I disagree with this idea because i think public parks, sport facilities and shopping centers are equally important. On the one hand, public parks and sports facilities can bring a lot of benefits for society as well as each individual. First of all, public parks are the best place for socializing especially when people can take part in a lot of different activities such as meditation, doing yoga, jogging or even hanging out with friends. Second of all, a new park can also benefit the environment because when many trees are planted, it will reduce carbon dioxide exhausted from transportations. In terms of sports facilities, not only is it the place for people to work out in order to have good physical health, but also people can find their hobbies from it. Take Joe Embiid as an example, an NBA basketball player, he found his passion in basketball when he first attended basketball court. On the other hand, shopping centers also have a lot of benefits in many ways. For many years, it has been a favourite place for people to blow off some steam and have fun with their friends because they can do a lot of activities including shopping, eating, going to the cinemas, playing machine games. It is also beneficial that shopping centers provide suitable jobs for people to work in services such as clothing stores, restaurants. In conclusion, I strongly believe that public parks, sport facilities and shopping centers are important for a new town and none of which is more important than the other one.