Government spending on restoration of old buildings in cities should be stopped instead they should spend the money for housing and road development. do you agree or disagree?

Some people would argue that it is not useful to spend a huge amount of funds on the restoration of classic old monuments and architectures. However, others hold an opinion that the ruling party should allocate a certain amount from taxes, which should be utilised for preserving important sculptures. Although the aforementioned arguments are contradictory, I believe that there is a strong correlation between them. So, it is best to allocate funds for both. Restoration of heritage is not a small task as it requires resources, such that, it is expensive that involves a huge amount of investment. However, it is worth it because of various reasons. The foremost is, heritage buildings are an imperative part of cities and hold cultural virtue. It also symbolises the ancient culture, rituals, and past lifestyle. Furthermore, revitalizing them can potentially result in an additional income for the state as it can become an attraction for tourism. For instance, renovation of the central station of Amsterdam, that was costly, but due to significance in a tourist community, eventually, it aided to generate large revenue to a local ministry. On the other hand, we live in a world which is getting overpopulated. So, traffic jam and uprising in housing demands are world-known issues. To resolve these, it is essential to invest a humongous amount of money, which is not possible only from taxes collected, additional income sources are required. One of the potential sources is tourism. For instance, Jakarta completed construction of all city roads with the use of additional funds obtained from tourism. To conclude, although investing in historic building development does not have visual direct advantages, there are numerous hidden benefits whether those are culture-related or additional income-related to a local ministry. Thus, I hold an opinion that it is worth i nvestment.