In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve this?

In this modern world, people in a number of countries are experiencing general wellbeing deterioration as their body weight increases. In my opinion, these issues are a result of increased fast food consumption and sedentary lifestyle. Besides, certain actions to resolve this will be proposed in this essay. There is ample evidence that low well-being and fitness levels are in direct correlation to obesity. The reason behind is twofold, firstly, overweighed people tend to consume fast food which contains a surplus of unhealthy ingredients such as cholesterol and sugars. Secondly, because of an inactive lifestyle, they fail to increase their level of physical strength which is achieved through exercising. For example, recent empirical research by the UK government reported that 80% of all cardiovascular patients showed signs of excess weight due to unhealthy diet and lack of exercise. Therefore, this makes it clear that people’s bad health and fitness condition is a consequence of eating junk food and the absence of physical activity. There are several things that could be done to tackle obesity and health-related issues. One of them is to popularize healthy dietary comprised of fresh vegetables and fruits. For instance, fast-food chain restaurants in Norway are being compelled to implement more vegetables-based meals. Furthermore, governments should increase sports facilities in schools and encourage children to do exercise more. Thus, it can be argued that the promotion of a balanced diet and teaching youngsters to practice sport activities from early ages could help in solving issues with health and fitness. In conclusion, I firmly believe that bad eating habits and lack of activity are the main causes of obeseness which comes with worsened healthiness and physical shape. Therefore, improving the quality of people’s diet and stimulating children to remain physically active are some of the measures that could be taken to tackle these problems.