Some people think zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, some people think zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In modern society, increasing concerns about animal welfare are being raised, causing heated debate recently. While some people claim that zoos are cruel, I am also convinced that they offer society and wildlife a wide range of benefits. On the one hand, in some cases, i nstitutionalization of wild animals can put them at certain risk and in precarious situations that should be immediately stopped. Firstly, the artificial and cramped environments in some zoos cannot serve sufficiently the animals’ need for room and space to grow fully and healthily. This would lead to several serious physical and mental problems, ranging from obesity to depression, for these caged animals. Secondly, animals living outside of their natural environment and social structure are deprived of the right to develop their natural instincts and sense of identity. Wild animals fed by zookeepers tend to lose their hunting ability and turn to depend on human support for survival. On the other hand, I would agree with those who suggest that in many countries’ zoos are the main contributor to wildlife conservation. Nowadays, ever-growing industrialization and its consequences such as heavy pollution and deforestation are threatening natural species and putting them at a greater risk of extinction. Zoos can serve as wildlife conservation areas which provide the endangered animal with shelter and food, and also protect them from illegal hunting and abuse. What’s more, zoos are key to the mission of maintaining biodiversity through conducting breeding programs which ensure the reproduction of rare species. Such an attempt would contribute to preventing animal extinction and maintaining animal diversity around the globe. In conclusion, despite undeniable animal welfare concerns regarding zoos, those which are ethically run are of paramount importance in aiding to conserve threatened animals and therefore should not be banned outright.