Some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In today’s world, people are living in a technologically influenced environment, and it has become an inevitable part of society. People often argue that these advancements provide a medium for interaction while others believe that it has paved the way to having an introverted personality. I personally opine that the demerits of this advancement are presently outweighing the merits. To begin with, the advent of the internet has helped to bridge the long-distance communication gap between family and friends. As a result,communicating with people from around the globe is possible at the click of a mouse. Mobile phones have made communication faster and cheaper. With apps like Facebook,WhatsApp and Instagram it is easier to share memories with your loved ones. Sharing important official documents and messages are possible through more convenient and secure sources. For example, firms with branches in other parts of the planet can have meetings with their other employees without having to pay exorbitant prices for air tickets and wasting time travelling to far off places. Also, in a situation of lockdowns, like during the coronavirus pandemic, due to apps like zoom and facetime,it became feasible for families to connect with the elders to ensure their safety and care. However, this sophisticated modern technology has made life more convenient and hassles free, its disadvantages can be detrimental. The youth is extremely affected by its addictive nature. They are more concerned about their followers and friends on various social networking sites. This eventually makes them more dependent on a gadget driven life making them socially withdrawn. They tend to care less about their family and friends who are physically present around them. Furthermore, it is also reported that human interactions of all age groups have reduced. For example, many individuals prefer video calls with their people living in their hometowns rather than going and visiting them over weekends or holidays. Nowadays, fewer groups of friends are seen roaming around the streets and in parks as people are in touch with their buddies on social networking sites. It is also noted that parents are too busy with their mobile phones or laptops and often forget to spend valuable time with their children. This subsequently leads to children becoming less interactive, both physically and socially. Hence, kids indulge themselves in mobile and video games. In due course, the whole family leads a very inactive and unhealthy lifestyle confined within the wall of a technology ruled atmosphere. In conclusion, technological reforms have changed life on earth. On one hand,it helps us drive away from our feeling of loneliness but on the other hand, the same technology when abused can make us even more socially alienated. Therefore, I firmly believe that it is time to evaluate the drawbacks and eliminate them so that we can benefit from the positive qualities of this boon.