Violence in the society is largely promoted by violence shown in media. To what extent do you agree?

I believe that news agencies possess the power to influence the highly impressionable public-at-large. The common man depends on the channel of their choice for information on world affairs, and there have been various instances wherein violent protests have been sparked and led by the media. Firstly, my essay will talk about how the media is used by political parties to further their agenda of toying with public opinion. Secondly, we will discuss how all channels are governed by television ratings and dramatize news to make themselves more sellable. We are all aware of the fact that media outlets are puppets in the hands of politicians. The parties all have control over one or the other channels, they mould news to influence society as per their convenience. You will observe that there is a clear demarcation on how a single piece of news is portrayed by different reporters to strengthen the proposition of their supporting units. This confuses the public and they mostly stick to one channel to avoid this situation and thus form a skewed opinion. For instance, during elections the public is shown how a political party has suffered at the hands of the opposition, to spark violent rallies and reinforce their support which ultimately will lead to stronger vote banks. On the other hand, all television reporting channels are vying to get the best ratings and thus deepen their pockets. Their aim is not to report the truth or best possible angle of the story, but become the leading channel in terms of consumer views and thus sponsor the vested interests of their investors. To achieve this goal the editors have become competitive and violently debate issues. There is a sense of dramatization of information which leads to angering the public and sparking a sense of responsibility. The journalists have many times encouraged people to take to streets and stand up against injustice. During the 'Nirbhaya issue ' it was the media who sponsored the unrest. To conclude, it is these agencies who have pushed people to get violent in many instances.