Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent times, the rate of crime has been increasing significantly. Although it is stated that several people reckon the finest way to drop all crimes would be longer prison sentences, others often argue that an improved alternate way should be introduced to reduce crime. This essay will demonstrate both the views, though I personally believe that an alternate way such as hearing the wrongdoing would be much more justified because the convicts may have a different motive. People who advocate longer imprisonment sentences believe that all offenders conducting any sort of misconduct in the society should be prosecuted for a lengthy stay in the prison. To begin with, crime rates will drastically drop, if the law for all wrongdoings will have a similar punishment. Any person, for instance, will be threatened before committing any sort of crime. Even though these punishments may not sound logical, it would promote to a healthy and happier world which would be free from criminals and all crimes. Clearly, the introduction of a long prison sentence will have some benefits to the world. Others, myself included, believe that an improved alternate way should be presented in order to reduce the offences in the country. Primarily, people reckon this action believe that there should be a proper hearing by a jury. Every criminal has a different motive while committing a crime. For example, a person driving fast on the road, should not be punished for life imprisonment; in fact, they should be fined and left. Although these kinds of actions will take ample time for the hearing, it will be assured that justice would be served. In short, hearing and getting a judgement from a jury is much of a better option as it would be justified and logical. In conclusion, even though numerous people would find longer prison sentences an improved approach to reduce crime, I personally believe that the alternate option of hearing the convict would be a much better method to control the wrongdoings in the country. This way the wrongdoers will also have a chance to explain their motive as well as make the punishment more justified.