The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only langusge to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

In recent times, there has been a significant surge in the travel and tourism industry; which has promoted English as a language to prevail in many countries. Although it is stated that this will have a global benefit, it is often argued that drawbacks associated with English as an only language are many. This essay will demonstrate both the positives and the negatives of English as the only global language, though I personally believe it is a disadvantage because many vivid cultures and languages will diminish. Advocates of the English dialect believe that it has a crucial role to play in the global scenario. To begin with, tourists are benefited often when they are travelling to a different part of the world. Communication, for instance, is considered to be the most important aspect to understand one another. If English is spoken as a prominent language rather than any other dialect, then this may lead to a better understanding of each other. Although this action of promoting one language will bring uniformity to the world, it will also encourage more tourists to travel to their favourite attractions more often. In addition to this, the monetary income will regularly flow causing no hindrance to the economy. This is because tourism is an enormous industry and with the prominence of English more travelling will take place, and this will then help to bolster the economy. Clearly, if English prevails as a language it will have several advantages. Others, myself included, believe that this promotion of a single dialect may lead to the death of many culture and language. Primarily, many countries may lose their authenticity if they accept English to be the only spoken language. For example, countries such as India, have an in numerous culture and language and with if they accept the culture of English as the only spoken language they would then be losing on their native dialects. Secondly, even though speaking in English may have many added benefits worldwide, it should not be promoted if another culture of a language has to be diminished. In short, encouraging English will lead to many disadvantages in relation to culture. In conclusion, although promoting English as a prominent language will boost the tourism industry and help to bolster the economy, I personally believe it is a disadvantage. It will not only make the world a boring place to live but also make many cultures lose their vibrant authenticity.