Many people say that teenagers should concentrate on all school subjects equally. Others, however, believe that students should spend more time on subjects they like, or are good at. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The importance of studies at school is immense and cannot be undermined. It is argued that every child should be made to study all subjects, with equal importance, while others say that it should be a choice. In this essay, we will elaborate on both views. It cannot be denied that for someone to become a well-rounded individual, basic knowledge of all the areas of study is of utmost importance. Furthermore, any topic included in the school's curriculum is only added after a lot of research has been done. Everything in the syllabus helps add a unique trait in a child's personality. For instance, while history enables us to appreciate the life we have, by learning about the sacrifices our ancestors had to make, science, on the other hand,helps us understand the world around us, in a more logical way and increases curiosity. Having said that, every child is unique and has his own strengths and weaknesses. While someone may be intellectually gifted, the other could be a superior athlete. Hence, forcing children to focus on all the subjects equally instead of allowing freedom to devote more time on subjects of interest, could limit the growth potential. For example, If Sachin Tendulkar would have been forced by his parents to only focus on his school, the world would have missed out on arguably the greatest batsman that has ever played the game of cricket. To summarize, while some subjects like Science, Maths and History, should be kept mandatory for everyone, there should also be freedom to choose the subjects like arts, sports, music and many more, based on the individuals liking.