These days, mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantages of this outwiegh the disadvantages.

With the commencement of the 21st century, there has been a rapid growth in the field of science and technology. Nowadays, individuals believe that smartphones and the internet play a crucial role in their life especially for communication purposes, others think that it has a negative impact. Even though the benefits of technology are inevitable, the drawbacks of these advancements outweigh them. In this essay, this view shall be elaborated further. To begin with, cellular devices and the internet has become an integral part of our lives. Gone are the days when mobiles were just used for communication unlike now, it has transformed into a multi-purpose platform. Moreover, since social media has become a norm and millions of people are connected to one another through it, individual believes that in order to blend in other should possess such devices. For example, these days people hardly share their mobile number instead, they give their social media account details to stay in touch. As a result, individuals concur that smartphones and the internet are an essential commodity. On the contrary, others think that such advancements are detrimental. This is because it creates unwanted tension and stress, as people have the mindset that owning such things would make you normal. Furthermore, people often lose the ideology of physical interaction and prefer online interaction, which eventually affects their physical and mental health. For instance, a survey conducted in the United States reported that almost every individual that uses social media or related applications suffer from anxiety and depression. To summarize, there are two sides to a coin; therefore, although the merits of cell phones are numerous, the impact that it has on people’s lives creates unnecessary pressure and tension.