Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

As fashion evolves in the present world, shopping rises to become the most prominent recreation activity. This essay discusses the main causes for such and why I believe the arguments for its negative developmental nature are stronger. There are two main reasons which are responsible for the growth of shopping among youngsters. Firstly, the low cost and high frequency with which new garments are released to encourage youth to constantly purchase items. For instance, trends are continuously updated on social media channels and television by exposing the new releases. In addition, youth feel peer pressure to fit in whenever their friends upload photos using new clothes to enhance social status. As a result, young adults end up spending more money and time buying to entertain themselves. As purchasing increases, many negative impacts can be found in the social-environmental spectrum. For example, the increase in the rate of consumption implies several issues as manufacturers spend more energy and resources to meet demand. In addition, while the environment suffers as lakes and forests perish to provide factories with raw materials our society becomes highly materialist as young individuals develop negative addiction to buying. As a result, the vicious cycle of buying becomes increasingly rooted in the younger generation’s cultural character. In conclusion, as our society develops shopping rises to be deemed as the best hobby among the youth. I believe the negative developments of compulsive buying far outweigh the positive ones. Each individual, in my opinion, should be conscientious about the negative outcomes of consumerism as well as its addictive influence on human behaviours.