Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Shopping has been changed if we consider the form of it. Years ago, generally, people were going to shops and they were buying their needs. However, websites are the new shopping malls and it is easier to get or receive anything just by using the mouses. Since it requires less effort, young adults prefer shopping more than any activity. This situation probably will cause a negative development. Firstly, shopping or online shopping leads to the situation that people go to meet their friends or go to the gym less than normal occasion since they use most of their time in shopping. If the psychology of the people taken into consideration, even though it seems that shopping time is leisure point, there will be less communication between people and their psychology will get worse. Also, time in shopping could be used for other qualified things such as gym and walking. Also, people need fresh air for their health but it is really impossible to get fresh air during the shopping time. Secondly, shopping leads to consuming of the materials more than needed. Generally, shopping-addicted people buy a lot more than their needs and they waste their money and time for nothing. This situation will lead overconsumption of the materials and so will lead overproduction which is not environment-friendly. In conclusion, it can be said that people should spend their day in a logical manner and should buy their need by avoiding consumption. For qualified time and for our environment, everybody should do their part of the responsibility.