Some feel that school uniforms make schools safer for students, create a "level playing field" that reduces socioeconomic disparities and encourage children to focus on their studies rather than their clothes. Others say school uniforms infringe upon students' right to express their individuality, have no positive effect on behaviour and academic achievement. Discuss both sides & give your opinion.

I am of the opinion that following a stringent dress code in the formative years of your life can be highly benefical in various ways, and at the same time it provides students with a fair and equal chance to succeed in life. Firstly, my essay will discuss the advantages of enforcing school uniforms and secondly, I will shed some light on how the other opinion does not hold much significance. The crux of the matter is that children are at a highly impressionable age when they are enrolled into schools. They are venturing out into the world for the first time without parental supervision, meeting new people and are exposed to a completely distinct environment. There is so much which separates one pupil from the other; they could come from completely different economic backgrounds. Moreover, they might also have highly distinct value systems regarding acceptable clothing, and suddenly being exposed to different dressing styles might be unsettling for them. At the same time, affordability may differ and that could result in bullying and premature clique formation. For instance, several international schools in our country encourage personal dressing on Fridays, which has led to many students complaining to the student counsellor against branded clothed bullies. Additionally, I feel a single uniform teaches discipline and following norms which is an important life skill. On the other hand, there are those who believe that enforcing a dress-code inhibits individuality of students and argue that schools should not follow dressing norms. I would like to argue that kids will have all the time in the future to express themselves and develop their unique personal style. Nevertheless, students are in school only for a short period of time in a day, and they have the weekends to express their persona freely. Moreover, uniforms most definitely have a positive impact on students' academics and general behaviour, as they feel safe in an assigned code of conduct. We can observe that students still manage to create disparities by carrying expensive school bags, bottles and pencil boxes. These also have become a reason for grouping of the rich against the not so fortunate children. To summarize, I would like to strengthen my belief by adding that a common ensemble will enable children to feel less threatened and thus perform better in the challenging environment. Schools should practice a strict dress code for maintaining equality and high standards of education.