In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

With the advent of the internet, the ways of learning have been revolutionized quite drastically. As a result, the traditional paper-based books have been replaced with modern e-books. Despite a few negative impacts of this trend, the overall advantages clearly surpass the shortcomings, and this script will provide the reasons for it. One of the leading benefits of electronic books has to be the ease and availability of it at any time. Which means to say that, unlike the old times, we do not need to carry thick and heavy paper-based books, if we want to move and want to read them on the way. In fact, modern technology has facilitated us with a lot of gadgets capable of storing thousands of books, yet can fit in the palm of our hand. For example, e-reads, mobile phones and smart-tablets are our new libraries, to read the content we want to, and at the place of our choosing. Hence, this piece of technology has totally changed the way of learning. In contrary, there are certain drawbacks of it, namely, lack of emotional attachment and reluctance to read due to a variety of available content. Firstly, it is often said that a reader develops an emotional connection with a book when it is physically there. Therefore, there is a possibility that a person may not feel the same way with digital books, and eventually lose interest in it. Additionally, a huge collection of readable content could overwhelm a reader and would possible lose attraction towards it. For instance, I normally get confused about what to read and what to skip if the available options are huge, later I end up doing something else. Although these are some noticeable cons of digital books; nevertheless, their significance is not much and could be ignored. To sum up, it is undoubtedly true that e-books have mitigated the need for paper-based books. Even though certain drawbacks are often attached to it, yet the benefits are way superior. Furthermore, this facility has boosted our pace of learning by making the content available to everyone.