Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Crime rate among big cities around the globe has become a major concern for the international community. This is believed by many that a fixed punishment must be outlined for any crime committed by the criminals. However, on the contrary, many opine with the statement that the motivation and the reason behind the crime must be considered before ruling out any judgement. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the latter that circumstances and the motive behind the crime must be considered before deciding the punishment for that crime. The penultimate paragraph will explain this in detail with relevant examples. On one side, the supporters of fixed punishment for each sort of crime claim that this benefits the society by saving time and money of the judiciary. This enables the courts to rule out decisions on a timely basis by referring to outlined punishments for each type of crime. This also sets out fear in criminals about their outcome before they actually commit that particular crime. For example, the University of Chicago from the USA conducted a survey of having a predetermined punishment for each type of unlawful act, and the Director of the research group, John Montgomery concluded that crime rate in the City of Chicago has dropped by 80% from the time before the application of this approach. On the other hand, I strongly believe that judging each criminal based on the circumstances and the motive involved, has humungous benefits. This approach can actually distinguish the difference between the criminal act and the accident. The punishment for murdering a human being cannot be the same as that of killing a person in a road accident. Dubai and UAE, for example, are best known for their judiciary and law enforcement around the sphere, as they have implemented a system which deals with criminals on a case by case basis, and up to an extent they have succeeded in stopping the rise of crime rate in their regions. In conclusion, it is evident from the above paragraphs that the criminals must be judged on basis of the situation and intention of the unlawful actions carried out by them. Moreover, this also restores the faith of people in equal justice.