The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people purchase a car because they believe they may escape from polluted air by staying inside their cars. However, instead of solving the issue, this belief may cause a worse situation. In my opinion, I strongly agree that people should be educated and encouraged to use more public transport to help to solve the issue. Firstly, reducing the use of personal cars will lead to minimizing the carbon footprint. For instance, driving to avoid contacting the low air quality may not result in better air condition. Comparing the amount of carbon footprint per person of a bus to a personal vehicle, it is clear that each person on a bus will produce less carbon than one in a car. Therefore, the more owners, the more significant amount of pollution being made compared to those of public transits. Secondly, public vehicles may also help to reduce travelling time if there are more people using them. In many cities, traffic jams are becoming normal because people drive their cars as their main transportation method. However, if more people travel by buses or metros, the number of cars will be greatly decreased, thus there will be less traffic chaos. Furthermore, many countries also provide dedicated lanes for buses, which dramatically increase travelling speed. At a result, travelling by public transports may greatly decrease travel time. In conclusion, it is clear that the number of car ownership should be decreased in order to reduce pollution because of several reasons. Governments should implement policies that work for their conditions, in order to educate or encourage their people to switch public transports more often.