Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that getting children to learn a foreign language early may give a better result. In fact, some also state that students should start to learn another language other than their mother tongue from primary school. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of learning a foreign language early. The capability to learn new things is greater as younger ages so it may be easier to teach children a new language. For example, those who have parents talking in different languages may be able to understand those languages because they have the ability to copy their parents. Moreover, adults may intentionally teach their kids a foreign language by speaking simple phrases to their kids. However, the ability of copying from adults may decrease significantly by age, so it may be better to start teaching children a foreign language as a foundation for future education. Learning another language early may also have some disadvantages. A major one might confusions between different languages. For instance, as children cannot differentiate the languages, they may misuse words from different ones. This result in their capacity to learn at school, where their grammar skill may be evaluated. Furthermore, as their ability to learn reduced in the greater ages, it may be difficult for them to learn how to use their mother tongue correctly and may fail them in learning at schools. To conclude, it is clear that the earlier students start to learn a new language, the quicker they are from getting used to it. Therefore, schools and parents should encourage pupils to start learning by providing exciting lessons or catching songs and characters.