Some people think that old buildings should be preserved. Others believe they should be demolished. Discuss both views and give your opinion

While it is thought by some that historic structures must be maintained, there are others who argue that they should be torn down. In my opinion, I consider that historic structures ought to be safeguarded if they can bring advantages, but if they cause issues, they should be razed. 49 On the one hand, according to some, traditional edifices must be conserved because they will keep history alive. In other words, when people visit old buildings, they can learn about the cultures and history of the place. For instance, in Saudi Arabia, there are many old buildings which have Islamic values and history, so if tourists from other countries visit these buildings, they can learn more about Islamic history. Moreover, they produce less waste. This is because saving old buildings means less trash from demolition, which is good for the planet. For this reason, I agree that old buildings must be protected. 102 On the other hand, some may claim that they should be removed. One reason is that they pose safety concerns. That is to say, some old buildings are not safe because they are weak or damaged, which could cause accidents, as well as they are hard to fix. If they need to be fixed, they will require a lot of money and might not always make them safe. For instance, some old buildings don’t have safety procedures. Another reason is that cities need space to build new buildings, such as schools, hospitals, or offices that can better serve modern needs. Owing to this reason, I also agree that old buildings should be removed. To sum up, although people may vary in their opinions, I think that old buildings should be conserved only if they are beneficial; otherwise, they should be removed.