Nowadays, not many university students choose science subjects in many countries. What are the reasons? What are the effects on the society?

Various countries currently experience a lack of interest towards scientific disciplines in tertiary- education. One of the possible reasons is the standard of teaching exact sciences in our schools. This trend may lead to shortages of qualified specialists in the engineering and bioengineering fields. Studying maths, physics and chemistry has always been an extremely challenging task. They are exceedingly time-consuming subjects as well as requiring experienced teaching. Poor standards of teaching can cause pupils to miss vital aspects of the subject. For instance, in my home country, students in secondary schools have a choice to study higher or ordinary- level maths. For that reason, whenever a child struggles with maths, he tends to drop to the lower level instead of being encouraged to persist with the one he is currently at. In short, a lack of support may inevitably discourage young people from studying mathematical sciences. The low number of science graduates will eventually reduce the number of specialists in areas like technology, engineering and chemistry. A lot of effort has been made to promote scientific studies to prospective students. In particular, some universities are organising various educational programs for children as young as twelve years old to develop an interest in those subjects. Unfortunately, despite all the efforts, prospective students find the idea of studying science subjects at the university level extremely daunting. Consequently, not a sufficient number of graduates will be available to join the workforce. In conclusion, the standard of teaching scientific disciplines at the secondary school level is vital for young people progressing to the university level. Furthermore, an insufficient number of college students studying sciences will eventually bring a deficit of qualified specialists in the areas, we can not imagine our life without these days.