In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, our life has changed from our ancestors’ style and in this modern life, we need some kind of supports, especially in mobile aspects. It is because people become more mobile and active rather than in previous decades. It might be the reason why some people think that much money should be spent on new line constructions, which connect some cities, to bolster up the human activities, whilst others think that it is better to use the fund for improving the existing public transports. Therefore, in this essay, I will examine both views and provide a plausible conclusion. To begin, new rail line lines might suit for busy people such as businessmen or women. It is because they have dense schedules in different areas. The new line lines might have a sophisticated technology that made transporting matters more efficient and faster. For example, an old train may take 5-6 hours for transporting from Pingtung to Taipei, while a Shinkansen (high-speed railway) can take only 2 hours. Thence, this technology can support modern and busy people to move from one place to another in an efficient way. On the other hand, not every person think like that. It is because there is a group of people, who believe that public funds should be spent on fixing or improving the previous public transports. It might be true because some of the old transportations are still fully functioning and only need a little repairment to be able to accommodate the citizens’ activities again. For instance, in Indonesia, there is a busway, it has been operated in a decade, but since last year, it began to have many engine problems. Regarding that matter, we can choose to take the repairment than buy the new one. Nevertheless, in a short-term period, it will start to break down again and if you can count the money that is used for several repairments, it can cost a whole brand-new bus, which is more worth. In a nutshell, new lines may give some people the opportunity to save a lot of time and the substantial thing, their time can be allocated to take care some of their businesses, which what they want, whereas fixing the existing transportations can not fully supporting our new modern life. Hence, in my honest opinion, I would choose that public money should be spent on a new railway that adapts the new technology to adjust to our recent situation.