Nowadays, more people get married to someone of a different culture than they ever did. Why is this happening? Discuss the benefits and demerits of this trend.

Marriage is one of the major phases of everyone's life. There has been a drastic increase in the number of individuals who belong to different communities and decide to marry each other. There are a number of reasons why this is happening. In this essay,is I will discuss these along with its benefits and drawbacks in the upcoming paragraphs. There is a myriad of factors why inter-caste marriages are becoming popular among society. The most telling one lies in the fact that the people have started to follow the western culture. Not only, is the commonalty getting aware about this western trend from various Bollywood and Hollywood movies, but more and more people are migrating to foreign countries that have changed their mindset of restricting to their own community for marriages. For example, a Bollywood named Hawaizada in which the Indian female lead gets married to a foreigner has influenced a lot of people to marry a person other than their own caste. Internet might also play a key role in encouraging the individuals to find a life partner in a different caste by providing the opportunity to meet the people of diverse cultures on a single matrimony platform. Such as, Bharat-Matrimony is an application that allows commonalty to find a perfect match for them on the basis of their compatibility, but not on the basis of their caste. Getting married to an individual of another culture has several advantages. The primary one lies in the fact it could help to bring harmony between diverse societies around the world. This is because, more the people will have an inter-caste marriage, more families from different background will generate strong relationships. Thus, allowing them to spread peace everywhere. For instance, an Indian player Sania Mirza married a Pakistani cricketer Shoaib Akhtar has helped to build some better relations among two nations. Moreover, it has helped to make more strong and long-lasting relationship between husband and wife than the caste-restricted marriages as individuals can marry on the basis of their understanding and compatibility level rather than getting restricted to their own community. One major drawback of this trend is difficulty to get adjust in a family with wholly different background and fear of getting disconnected from their own customs and traditions. As an example, females are unaware of the customs of an in-laws family have to face criticism or discrimination by the family members as she cannot fulfil their expectations of following their culture. To summarize, factors like the adoption of western culture and social media has made it possible to allow people to have inter-caste marriage. Therefore, a number of benefits and disadvantages of this trend has been discussed like more long-lasting relation with life partner and sometimes difficulty in adjusting to a new family.