It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more?

Nowadays, children are consistently being reluctant towards reading and it is even harder to divert their interest to read books. A most prominent reason for this would be the influence of the internet and online games. However, there is a positive hope to develop their interest in it via comics or picture-based books. With the advent of the internet and the rise in popularity of online games, the importance of reading literature and books have been distorted. Recently, the majority of teenagers and school going kids are more into getting a smartphone or a gaming console, rather than getting a new book. For instance, the University of British Columbia has published research stating that more than 90% of teenagers these days prefer to spend time on smartphones rather than visiting a library nearby. This detrimental trend could have deteriorating effects on the character development of our future generation. To cope up with this issue, picture-based comic books could be used to gain the attention of the growing kids. In this ways, the reader could have a visual representation of what he is reading, which would definitely connect them with the book more deeply. For example, the images are often more appealing rather than just text-based story, especially for the kids. Hence, such constructive step may develop a consistent bond once kids grow up. In conclusion, the continuously decaying connection between kids and books is quite alarming. Although the cause of this trend is due to modern technology, yet it could be overcome by certain steps.