Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Mainstream media and TV channels have produced countless celebrities and idols. It is often argued that these stars are known for their glamour and luxurious lifestyles rather than the achievements they got, which spoils the young followers of them. I completely agree with this statement and shall present the reasons for it. First of all, the fashion icons, movie stars or even famous singers are the trendsetters for their follower, kids would follow the exact footsteps of theirs. Which certainly means that, if the popular stars would start showing off their social status and affluence, then it would make the youngster more and more materialistic. For instance, teenagers in most of the developed countries judge each other's financial background with the brands they wear, eventually, they end up accompanying the rich ones only. As a result, the social gap between the rich and the poor might increase significantly in the future. Furthermore, this negative influence might misguide the kids to distract from polishing and enhancing their abilities to achieve something in their life, instead, their goal would be earning money no matter what. This simply means that even though a child posses certain skill set and the potential to achieve something in a different field of life, following these idols would probably spoil them and make them go astray from the right path. For example, Kpop culture in South Korea has distracted thousands of school and college kids to adopt their lifestyle, resulting in overspending their student loans on useless stuff and eventually lacking focus on studies. Hence, such trends are detrimental for our growing generation, if not taken care of at right time. In conclusion, while movies stars and drama actors and actresses are getting popular for their living standards and fashionable rather than their talent. Our younger generations are getting bad influences from them as they follow such icons as their idols in real-life.