Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that, the buildings designed in large cities should follow the rules by the government, while others argue that, the design should be finalised by the one who finances the architecture. In my opinion, the person who is financing the building should have a say to the layout of it, however, the final design is to be constructed according to the rules. On the one hand, the government must have some building codes in terms of construction which have a great impact on the cities well being. Firstly, the governmental authority needs to control the use of the footprint of the plot area, as well as the height of the structure. Therefore, if all the structures follow the codes, the city will become properly planned. For instance, the houses of foreign countries maintain some strict rules which enable the cities to be designed in a planned manner. Secondly, by following such regulations, people of the country can ensure safety from many hazardous events. On the other hand, although those who spend their money to build their houses should have some freedom to design, they also should be controlled by the codes. In other words, people need to build their buildings in accordance with the regulations, otherwise, no space will remain between two sites and it will not be a livable place for the dwellers. For example, old Dhaka experienced a tragic fire incident in 2018, consequences of which could have been mitigated if the city was designed as per the structure rules. To conclude, although people should be able to construct their houses as they want, they must do these following the rules regulated by the government. By designing the buildings according to the governmental rules, a safe, as well as, a livable nation can be ensured for the people of the country.