UNIVERSITY STUDENTS ARE INCREASINGLY STUDYING ABROAD AS PART OF THEIR STUDIES. DO THE ADVANTAGES OF STUDYING ABROAD OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?

More and more students tend to study abroad. Although students will often struggle with cultural and linguistic challenges while abroad, they will also gain significant life experiences that will reward them later on in their careers. In my opinion, studying overseas has more advantages than disadvantages, so students are far better to study in a different country despite the challenges that they will inevitably face. Some people think that the main disadvantage of studying overseas is that being abroad is a tough task. These young students might struggle with many difficult situations that they have no solution to tackle them. They might meet many difficulties in a wide range of issues other than just in their studies. For instance, a recent survey shows that many students who have had the experiences of studying overseas failed to make friends with the local residents. Some said they really do not know how to deal with the cultural shock. As a result, some students who are studying overseas are really suffering from the social and language barriers. Despite studying abroad has its own negatives, the greatest benefit of studying abroad is that students will have life experiences that they would have no opportunity to gain if they studied in their own countries. Being in another country requires people to push themselves out of their comfort zone. They should be more independent and be equipped with the ability to solve various problems and difficulties on their own. For example, many young students should take care of themselves when being abroad despite they do not need to do anything at home. Therefore, these ultra-challenging experiences are paradoxically the main advantage of studying overseas because they make these students frow as a person. In conclusion, studying abroad has become incredibly common. While students will no doubt experience social and language barriers, it is in fact that these barriers that lead to the main advantage of studying abroad which is personal growth. In my opinion, it is the hardship that ultimately makes the experience of studying abroad more advantageous than disadvantageous.