Some people view teenage conflict with their parents as a necessary part of growing up, whilst others see it as something negative which should be avoided. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As children grow up to become teenagers, some tension might arise between parents and children. Some people opine that this is a situation that cannot be ignored but others feel that it has no positive benefits and should be avoided. However,I feel that teenage strife is part of growing up and there may be some positive effects on this development. One of the primary reasons people view teenage strife in a positive light can be linked to the issue of independence. As a teenager, a child begins to see the different options that are available when it comes to dressing, grooming, eating habits and a host of other choices. The ideas that a teenager has, will most likely be different from the parents as a result of many social and technological advancements. In addition, teenagers like to socialize with their peers and may limit the time spent with parents. While parents want to be able to continue to spend time with their children which may consequently result in tensions between both parties. However, many older people feel that teenagers should not disagree with their parents as it does not show that they have respect for them. They feel that parents know what is best for their children and since they are not adults yet, they do not have the ability to make the right decisions. For instance, a parent may want his or her child to study a particular course in University because the job prospects for being in that field are excellent, but the teenager might be interested studying something totally different. Such a situation can lead to conflicting views between both parties. To a large extent, I think that clashes cannot be avoided, on the one hand, it can enlighten parents on how their children feel about different issues and on the other hand teenagers can get correction and advice on issues that they lack experience in. In conclusion, since conflict is a necessary evil, both parents and teenagers need to find ways for reconciling their differences in other to prevent conflicting situations from escalating.