Before students go to college, some students are encouraged to work or travel for a year, known as the gap year. Do you think this is a good idea?

A particular issue about education has raised quite a concern at home and abroad. It is widely believed that students should go to work or travel in the previous year of college. In my opinion, the practice not only carries a range of weaknesses, but there are also reasons should students focus more on studying. On one hand, having young pupils to go travel or work during the gap year can still benefit students to some degree. People may metamorphose into more mature individuals to launch their college year. With the experiences which they accumulate through the gap year, the knowledge might help them drive into a brighter future during their university life. However, this practice possesses drawbacks that can cause profound repercussions to students. The gap year is a kind of hiatus that can influence students to pursue academic studies. Pupils can be easily seduced by a myriad of distractions, as they are not mature enough to distinguish from right and wrong. There is a high chance for students to step into traps and can't find a way out of the turbulence. On the other hand, there is a kaleidoscope of advantages should students underscore in their academic studies. For one thing, the campus isn't only a place for studying, but also a microcosm of society. People can obtain knowledge and experiences in the university and it's also a safer place to learn inside a campus. For instance, pupils can attend lots of extracurricular activities where they can gain social knowledge and also opportunities to broaden their relationship, which can be useful after stepping into society. For another, college is where people can pour efforts into academic studies and a chance to extend one's horizon as well as lots of training to clarify people's logic ability. Throughout these practices, people can become more mature and form independent thinking ability to walk toward the harsh environment of society. In a nutshell, although the gap year contains positive influences on people, the negative impacts can still run far and wide, there are other inherent reasons should pupils emphasis more on college study, ranging from a safer place for learning social skills to pursuing better independent thinking ability.