The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs enormous government expenditure.This money should be used in new housing and road development.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the progress and renovation made in civic facilities in modern cities,it follows that an increasing number of historical buildings inevitably need to be restored,which costs a great deal of capital of governments.In this case,there are people arguing that the money should be invested in building new houses and roads instead.In general,I am in favour of this suggestion. Admittedly,the reconditioning of old buildings has proved its cultural and historical worth to some extent. For instance, the UK has poured billions into the rebuilding of its castles in the 14 century into museums,which attract vast numbers of visitors nowadays and boost its tourism industry.Undoubtedly,the work on maintenance and upgrading of old ones tends to facilitate the establishment of international reputation for abundant cultural relics as well as a reminder of the past for our future generations. However,In a world full of practical problems such as traffic jams and compact households,it seems that the government should make more efforts presently to deal with these urgent issues. First of all, our newly-built skyscrapers are able to make better use of limited space to hold much more residents than those in old times,which include only a few storeys. Furthermore,various highways being built provide huge benefits for the public by saving their commuting time and relieving traffic stress. Last,advances in technology and science should be applied in our daily life and promote the modernization of large cities. Besides,there are some countries compelled to spend a huge amount of fund on rebuilding vintage houses just because the locals' strong bondage with the past of their families,which seems not wise enough in my personal view. To sum up,I take the view that governments should invest more in the modern development of buildings and road systems,which not only benefit individuals, but also the country as a whole.As for ancient buildings, it is reasonable to allocate a certain proportion to our cultural heritages in a balanced way.