Some people believe that advertising has a strong effect on a person’s decision-making process. Others feel that it has little or no real impact. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many companies are spending a colossal amount over advertising. There are some people who believe that it influences decision making while purchasing, though others feel that it has no such effects. In my view, however, I think that it affects the choice of individuals significantly. To begin with, the advertisements create an interest among people to purchase that product or service. It is mainly due to the innovative ways of making commercials, which makes individuals relate with them, thereby they end up purchasing it. The famous advert about a health supplement, Complain, for example, depicted that children grow taller if they consume it on a regular basis, so many concerned parents bought that drink to increase the height of their offspring. Thus, had there not been any commercials which developed liking towards that item or service, there would not have been much demand for them. Conversely, many feel that advertisements have no impact on the choice of individuals while buying. It is due to the fact that people have become more concerned about their spending habit, which refrains them from getting carried away by any marketing tactics. In India, the sales of four-wheelers, for instance, drastically reduced when the nation had suffered a massive recession, as it created a thought among people to limit their expenses. Therefore, it is apparent that unless and until there is a requirement, people restrict their purchases. To conclude, huge money is being deployed on commercials by organisations. While there is an opinion among people that it alters the mind-set of them when buying commodities or availing services, others contend that it hardly has an impact. Despite varied views, according to me, undoubtedly advertisements have its impression on thoughts regarding the purchase.