Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes.What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays the elderly people are living in home cares instead of with their families. In the past, women generally did not work, so she could take care of their parents, but now, with both couple working, it is a difficult duty. There are advantages of sending old people to nursing homes, where they could not only receive support 24h per day but also their treatment would be done by professionals. For example, they might get special care, with a balanced meal specially prepared for their needs, the physical activities will be prepared based on their health condition and there will be doctors and nurses ready to help them in case of an emergency. And furthermore, all facilities are prepared to receive people with reduced mobility, diminishing the risk of accidents. On the other hand, the disadvantages are loneliness and the contact with the care providers could be distant, almost professional, without tenderness and compassion. Besides, being away from their home, their safe harbour, could cause stress and a sense of being lost, therefore, their memories could start to fade away. And the visits will probably be reduced when the months and years go by. The family will start to live his life as the elderly no longer exists. In conclusion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, the youth are wasting their time without enjoying the companion of their parents, by delegating this final moment to a third party. It would be more sensitive to keep their senior at home, surrounded by the family and if possible hiring a nurse to help with the chores.