Adult population do not do enough exercise, some people believe that showing major sports event like Olympics or football world cup on television encourages people to exercise. Others argue that there are better ways to encourage adults to move more. Discuss both view and discuss your opinion.

Majority of the adult population these days have a sedentary behaviour. Some people believe that an increase in the telecast of sports tournament on television shall change their style, however, others believe that they need to be motivated by other ways. In this essay,we will discuss both the view and shall also share my opinion. As per the latest statistics by W.H.O., around one-fourth of the young population is suffering from obesity and its related ailments like heart diseases, diabetes, etc. and unhealthy nature, with no physical activities and junk food habits, is the root cause of it. Adults these days prefer playing sports on videogames instead of playing in the field. The telecast of sports tournament and matches shall develop their interest in sports but, it is very unlikely that they shall be motivated enough to participate in these games and make a change in their behaviour. The young generation needs to be pushed to imbibe healthy living, this can be done collectively by Government and community. Schools and colleges shall make it mandatory for the students to walk or ride a bicycle to school. Additionally, schools shall also encourage sports and its score shall add to final assessments. Furthermore, corporate shall motivate its employees to ride a bicycle to the office and shall also organize sports tournament, yoga sessions etc for their staff. The government shall provide safe roads & infrastructure for people to walk or ride a bicycle, provide parks equipped with exercise equipment and shall run some campaigns to motivate people to stay fit. For example, Government of Dubai, every year, organizes a campaign, wherein, the person who loses maximum weight wins the gold prize. In conclusion, showing sports on television shall raise the interest in sports, but, may not be strong enough to motivate them to move more. People need to be encouraged and pushed more by various other means to strive for fitness and good health.