“Prevention is better than cure”. Out of country’s health budget, a proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and prevention measures. To what do you extent do you agree or disagree?

We have often heard this phrase from childhood that "Prevention is better than cure" for having a healthy life. In the same way, people also feel that the same approach applies to country's health budget where not all the money should be invested on treatment instead certain funds should also be allocated for medical education and precautionary measures to tackle pandemics. I completely agree with it as a country needs to have a strong health care system and health education system in order to be ready when difficult situations arise. Firstly, when there is no proper research being done on a disease it gets highly difficult to find a medicine to cure it and in turn loss of lives continues. For example, various types of cancer exist in today's world where still there is no medical treatment to cure them and many doctors try to treat them without proper research but eventually patient suffering from it dies. Hence, it's very important that the government should set-up new medical institutions where research on non-curable diseases can be performed to save precious lives. Secondly, preparedness to handle worst-case situations during the time of pandemics is also a important step to safeguard citizens during that phase. For instance, when Covid-19 started to spread in India it was this time when people realized how poor medical infrastructure is to deal with this menace. Lack of facilities in hospitals like limited oxygen supply, no proper beds, few doctors to treat affected people,etc were some indicators to show the helpless health care system of the country. Therefore, a country should always keep aside certain funds to improvise preventive measures. To conclude, many people lose their close ones because of various unknown diseases and some due to lack of medical help during the time of pandemics. Hence, the government should spend more towards constructing new medical facilities where research and treatment go together and this also increases employment opportunities for entry-level doctors.