These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Parenting has become a challenge these days as there is an increasing number of fathers who have become homemakers rather than acting as the customary breadwinner, which is now played by mothers. Financial difficulty is the foremost reason for this gender role reversals in rearing a family and in my opinion, this is a negative development. The evident switch of parental figures is caused primarily by monetary issues a couple faces. Rearing of children tends to be expensive that either two parents need to work and hire help, which often requires more budget, or one stays at home. As more women are establishing their career with high position and pay, in gearing toward practicality, their husbands give way and sacrifice their own job to raise their offsprings at home. To be a good provider without neglecting childcare is the obvious reason for this modern approach in growing a household. However, an issue about men's mental health could be a concern about this new approach of family structure. To be labelled as "househusband" could give detrimental effects as it is still a stigma in our society. These husbands could feel isolated as it will be uncomfortable for them to be in women-and-baby centres or have playdates with other kids. For instance, there are researches that found higher depressive symptoms with these stay-at-home dads. In conclusion, in my opinion, this change is prevalent now in order for these couples to tackle their finances with more ease without forfeiting the welfare of their children. Nonetheless, it should be applied with caution for the psychological ramifications it could present.