The international committee should act immediately to ensure that all countries reduce fossil fuels, such as gas and oil. Do you agree or disagree?

The greater threat for humanity and for all life forms on the earth is global warming caused by human actions. I strongly agree that all countries should closely coordinate to drastically reduce the consumption of fossil fuels since pollution in a country impacts others and no nation will take initiative due the economic impacts of such measures. The pollution of every country impacts the environment of other countries in one way or another. Take for example how mineral waste from factories in Chile affects Peruvian underground water reserves. Chilean waste from mining which results from the processing of cooper is irresponsibly dumped in the desert. This pollution not only contaminates the local wildlife but also other countries. In a similar fashion, pollution from Japanese fishing boats impacts the sea bed on the coast of many other countries. Since air and sea cannot be divided by physical borders, they act as a single global system and all countries must act together to reduce the environmental impact of industries. Moreover, this is an era of competition in which all countries race each other to produce goods at a low cost. Since reducing reliance on crude oil will entail a huge investment in alternative sources of energy, it will increase the price of all manufactured goods and no country will take this initiative. The country which takes initiative will lose a competitive advantage over others. In consequence, all countries should come together on a common platform such as the United Nations and pledge to curtail the use of fossil fuels in an organized manner. In conclusion, the future of humanity is at stake and the price of not acting is high. I believe countries must cooperate and impose strict reduction targets on pollution.