It is recommended by some lawmakers to punish the parents in place of their children who have commited less serious crimes like disorderly conduct or theft. They say that this will force parents to become more responsible in taking care of their children. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

In the case of minor crimes namely disorderly conduct or theft realized by children, some councilmen suggest punishing the parents instead of their offspring in order to make them aware of their responsibilities and duties towards them. I firmly believe that penalities must be imposed on parents in this category of crimes. In this essay, I will dive into the depth of why I agree with this approach. To begin with, researchs had shown by various social studies that every individual is a product of their environment, where parents play a crucial role in providing a positive and supportive habitat to foster well-rounded children and to fully equip them with the necessary education and moral compass. Based on what was mentioned, I am of the opinion that holding parents accountable could encourage them to a better supervision and guidance and to be more vigilant in monitoring their children's activities. In other words, such a policy could serve as a deterrent for guardians, making them more invested in ensuring their children adhere to societal rules. On the other hand, some may argue that penalizing parents could be unfair if they are genuinely trying by struggling due to circumstances like single parenting or financial constraints or even address the root cause of the child's behaviour on external factors such as peer pressure or societal influences. In fact, I completely disagree with this statement. Obviously, it can be the case, nevertheless it is effortless to victimize oneself and to resign from their ultimate role. Assuming it is true, the parents who are struggling in correcting their child's misconduct can ask for support and counselling from the social unit specialized before this goes any further. In conclusion, although there might be challenges in implementing such laws, I am convinced that this approach would have a positive impact on society.