Some people think the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have contrasting views about what would be the ultimate goal of an educational institution. While some people opine that school should prepare their pupils as a productive member of society, I think they also should help these children to grow as a person meanwhile. Firstly, preparing children for employment will ensure their livelihood. If youngsters are provided market-based lectures & environments on their campus, it will create their base for professional life. Consequently, they will be competent by gaining the required knowledge and skills for being recruited by companies or start entrepreneurship. Thus, getting ready for future jobs at an early age helps the children to grasp opportunities in the future and earn their bread and butter. For example, in Bangladesh, the employment rate is 30% higher for the candidates who had graduated from the vocational training centre compared to general. However, developing children's personality will make them a happy person. An individual may be very successful in life by having a progressive career, yet he may be unhappy and depressed for other internal concerns. Therefore, it is necessary to focus on child cognitive development and improvement of their interpersonal skill so that they could be able to make effective communication, differentiate right and wrong & tackle difficulties. As these young people spend a long time in school, soft skills would be effectively inculcated by them if they are being taught these in the classroom. For instance, punctuality and discipline, two vital qualities a pupil learn from their classroom, which benefits them life-long. In conclusion, whether making students for future occupations or better characteristics should be the main target of an educational institution is a controversial issue. I think both should be the purpose of a teaching centre for building a complete personality.