For a long time art has been considered an essential part of all cultures in the world. However, nowadays people’s values have changed, and we tend to consider science, technology and business more important than art. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to draw people’s attention to art?

Art has been an important part of all cultures around the world for a long time. Meanwhile, people now consider other sectors, such as science, technology, and business, to be more essential than art. I personally believe that the advances in technology and low salaries for art workers are the crucial factors of this issue, and making art subject as a compulsory course in schools can tackle this. Firstly, technological advancement totally changes the way people live these days. Technology helps everything become easier, particularly in human life, and thereby it is likely to be more appreciated. For example, the smartphone has transformed the way people do business nowadays. It is recently a common practice to shop and sell things through an online marketplace. Thus, more innovations are expected to come from individuals because of their direct impact on life. That being said, individuals will be more rely on science, technology, and business in order to make themselves more comfortable in daily life. Secondly, workers in the art field usually receive a lesser salary. Many art workers need to have side jobs to make a living because of the low income they make from art. In contrast, other professions, such as scientists, doctors and businessmen, receive more than three times of average income than art workers, take novelists for instance. As a result, people see the art field as not good enough for the future and profound to be more concerned with other subjects. One of the possible solutions to tackle the issue is applying art as a mandatory subject in schools. As pupils receive as much information as they can during study, it leads them to be more open-minded to the abstract contents of art. For instance, a school in Jakarta held an art exhibition of their students' artworks. Owing to this action, the scholars are likely to feel more appreciated and it motivates them to generate more work. In conclusion, I affirm that technological advancement and salary levels have pivotal roles in making people more concerned with science, technology, and business rather than art. However, the role of art subject in the school can be used to solve this problem.