Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sport, while others think it is negative. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many sports events have become sponsored by private, advertising companies. While I believe that there are negative consequences associated with this, in my opinion, it is considered one of the many ways to raise funds for sports. On the one hand, people who are against this suggest that the money spent on sponsoring international competitions could go for other useful services, such as improving education and health services. Many corporations pay huge prices creating adverts, which are considered by many to be a waste of financial resources. Getting medical attention can be challenging in some nations because of the rising treatment costs and failure to attaining insurance. Many students may find it difficult to continue their studies without the help of scholarships, which can be funded by various institutions. On the other hand, the major advantage of commercial campaigns is that they play a fundamental role in attracting public attention, a broad audience flock from around the globe to watch worldwide competitions. World cup and Olympics can be examples of what sponsorship can do, the media surrounding such events increases the viewership. Furthermore, funds which are received from broadcasting channels and cable companies can be beneficial in improving sports facilities and sporting clubs, as well as encouraging young people to become physically active. Moreover, promoting such tournaments enhances the reputation of the company, as well as the host country. Therefore, refining economic income along with the global standing of the both sponsoring company and the hosting nation. I strongly support these media campaigns, as they promote physical exercise, leading to a healthy lifestyle among many individuals. To conclude, revenue, publicity and national distinction are the major advantages regarding the funding of global contests.