It is better for children if the whole family including aunts, uncles and so on are involved in a child’s upbringing, rather than just their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Raising children could be a challenge that some are fiercely debating that the involvement of extended family is beneficial. With an opposing view, some argue that the child-rearing task should be one solely by their parents, which, in a way, I agree. In this essay I will discuss the aid of relatives can give to couples in upbringing their children and the uncontrollable influence they may impart at the same time. The foremost benefit of involving first degree relations in nurturing offsprings is the support it can give to parents. Taking care and providing for children is an exhausting responsibility that relatives' involvement can alleviate parents workload. As a result, parents can get rest and feel rejuvenated, which in turn can make them more effective parental figures. For instance, this type of family structure is widely popular and evident in most Asian countries where a young family usually resides at their own parents' house while their siblings' own family is living as well. Overall, children can gain an advantage with this set up as they can have adult supervision at any time. On the other hand, because no one can control any other person's behaviour, engaging the help of relatives can have a bigger ramification. There are unavoidable negative attitudes and ways the children may copy or get confused to the right or wrong of things and situations. Because of living in one roof, this concern may be impossible to limit. As a result, tensions, misunderstandings and fights among family members may arise by questioning and correcting the wrongdoings imparted to their children. Furthermore, with deep influence, children may get dependent on their aunts or uncles that they will disregard their own parents' authority over them. With this, it could cause more damage to the child's interest. In conclusion, in my opinion, including the whole family in rearing children could be an enormous help in lessening the parents' burdens. Nonetheless, a greater negative impact can present because of the potentially incorrect influence these other blood relations may inculcate. This is a case-to-case basis and both parents and other familial figures should take heed and caution as to which will be of more value and gain for their beloved children.