Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar; which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

A multitude of health issues are attributed by the vast carbohydrate percentage in manufactured food and beverages; therefore some individuals propose the theory to encourage less sugar purchase by increasing product expenditure. While this may seem advantageous, I concur with this statement to a limited extent. Looking from an economic level, statistics showed unaffordable price poses an effect on reduced appeal, hence effective in preventing sugary consumption. Nonetheless, these numbers do not speak for all. To put an illustration, the Hong Kong government lifted the cost of cigarettes in 2022 to minimise the smoking population. Notwithstanding the unaffordable price, the limited deterrent effect does not hold back smokers' lust for tobacco intake. In actuality, this further consolidates that addiction remains to be the saddening truth and the crux of the issue. Undoubtedly, the proposed solution can hardly ameliorate the indulgence of carbohydrates. Additionally, the policy acts as a seedbed for a skyrocketing quantity of illegal trades. Given the increased tax for sugary food and drinks, entrepreneurs would aim to expand market sales by selling sugar products that is lower than the market expenditure. Not only does this aggravate unlawful activities, but this may put an unprecedented burden on the law enforcement due to increased crime. All in all, while making sugar pricey encourages less carbo consumption, it is significantly likely to backfire thanks to increased criminal activities and serious addiction. To maximise the prevention of sugar overindulgence, world leaders should spearhead education campaigns to raise the public's awareness of health, along with researching sugar substitutes to reduce the craving for being sweet-toothed. Only can this be conducted to promote a healthy ambience across society and the globe.