As countries develop people tend to buy more and more cars. Do you think the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

The automobile purchase has unarguably one up in most developing countries. In my opinion, personal transport brins about more problems for the environment in comparison to any individual benefits it might bring. Firstly, there are some relevant benefits for individuals who own their own vehicles. This is because a personal car insures transport convenience and privacy. That is to say, it reduces peoples reliance on both public and shared transports, thus providing the possibility to reach work on time. Not only does personal transport helps people punctuality, but also improves work quality. Since the travel time greatly reduces employees tend to be more efficient and less lazy in their works, resulting in more productive workers which would benefit employers and industries. Personal benefits of having a car extend to individuals of all age groups. Take, for example, school students who usually require travelling between school and their part-time jobs. Nevertheless, despite the advantages mentioned, personal car-owning can lead to extremely detrimental side effects on the environment. One of the potentially serious problem is the increase in fossil fuel consumption and the consequent carbon dioxide release which accumulates in the atmosphere damaging the ozone barrier and causing global warming. Another serious issue is health problems that come along with exhaust gases from cars. Recent medical research has shown that the prevalence of lower tract pulmonary infections and asthma have increased among young people, compared to their ancestors. In summary, I believe side effects like harming or environment and our health overshadow the benefits of purchasing personal cars.