Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others , however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed school.

If boys and girls should be taught in mixed schools has been a trending topic ever since the initiation of women’s rights movements. Many believe that the practice of teaching boys and girls together in the same school should be continued, while others argue genders must be taught separately. This essay will focus on both opinions. On the one hand, it is believed that educating boys and girls in a co-education system reaps numerous bounties. For example, most women rights activists contend that instructing males and females together enhances the understanding between the two genders. This provides members of both genders with the necessary skills which can later be transferred into their personal lives, and as result enjoy a higher degree of matrimonial bliss. Thus, it is clear why many people support the idea of co-education. On the other hand, many people think the practice of educating girls and boys separately is best. For example, Saudi Arabia is often mocked for its conservative culture. Despite this, Saudi Arabia has one of the lowest rape and sexual assault rates in the world. One of the reasons cited for this is the segregation on the basis of gender in the educational institutes. When looking at this side of the debate, the benefits that are derived from separate schools for girls and boys can be seen. Although both sides of this argument have indisputable virtues, it is felt that practice of educating male and female pupils in the same school is much more of a positive development than negative. Therefore, it is hoped that the trend of co-education schools will continue to be the norm the world over into the foreseeable future.