In the future it may be necessary for us to live on other planets. For this reason, some people believe that we should spend money now to research other planets, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For many aeons of time, the Earth has been the only habitable planet for humans, plants and animals. However, some people opine that funds should be spent on finding out about other planets in order to inhabit them in future. Notwithstanding, I think that getting information on other planets is a positive move, however, such a project should not be done with the aim of inhabiting those planets. This essay will discuss in detail both views and give a plausible conclusion. To begin with, our planet Earth has existed for billions of years and has undergone so many changes. However, many individuals are worried that in the future the effects of global warming will make the Earth inhabitable for humans, hence the need to find an alternative. For instance, scientists have carried out so many studies that show that sea levels are gradually rising and many species are going extinct. However, this should only make it imperative to spend money on ensuring that pollution and the burning of fossil fuels are curtailed in other to prevent global warming. On the other hand, the need to carry out findings on other planets is encouraged as this can tell us more about our Galaxy and also contribute to future research that can help us further understand the way the Universe works. For example, many scientists have gone on several explorations to Mars and even to the Moon. This has enabled us to get more insights about these planets and as result,we are able to create new ways of survival. To conclude, while it is a good move to research on other planets with the aim of finding out how habitable they are, more should be done to ensure that the Earth remains in good condition. Moreover, if we treat the environment well, there would not be any reason to find somewhere else for humans to live.