In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The desire of companies to emphasise the novelty of their products is becoming more aggressive, reflecting the psychology of consumers and the ethical aspects of marketing. Although in some cases this can promote innovation, in general, I believe that excessive advertising often has more negative than positive consequences, such as waste and strengthening the culture of disposable consumption. One of the main reasons why marketing focuses on such advertising is the psychological side. Buyers usually strive for the latest, high-quality and unique. This is noticeable, for example, in the cosmetics industry, where brands such as MAC, Shiseido, and Maybelline collaborate with celebrities to produce strictly limited editions of rare products. As a result of such cooperation, consumers have a desire to purchase goods as soon as possible, even if this purchase is impulsive. If such a constant pursuit of novelty only stimulated economic activity, it would be extremely positive, but the negative consequences are obvious. Insatiable consumer demand often leads to the accumulation of cosmetics, which for the most part remain unused, which contributes to the development of a culture of excess. This trend, in turn, exacerbates environmental problems due to the increase in the amount of waste and contributes to the formation of public opinion in which single-use is valued above environmental friendliness. Conversely, some companies use the concept of high-profile innovation from the standpoint of ethics and improving society. For example, the context in which green enterprises launch new products on the market, loudly proclaiming it, is a necessary and useful advertisement that raises public awareness. If a company donates part of its profits to environmental initiatives or participates in activities that promote sustainable development, buying goods from it is preferable to a less innovative one in this regard. However, it is still important to carefully examine the intentions behind such branding strategies, as the fine line between genuine sustainability efforts and greenwashing can be blurred. Thus, the desire of companies to emphasise the innovation of their products is a double-edged sword. However, I am convinced that the prevailing negative effects, such as encouraging consumerism and environmental damage, in most cases outweigh the potential benefits. Therefore, it is important to develop conscious consumption and critical thinking so that the pursuit of new things does not come at the expense of a eco-friendly future.